Search Books from ReInkarnation

Close Search

Parade’s End


ISBN-13: 9781908390233

Starting at £ 1.53

Buy from Kindle


This series charts the impact of the Great War on the Tietjens’ family. Regarded as one of the most influential novels of the 20th century. Dramatised by the BBC (twice).

Ford’s reputation is sustained by two works: The Good Soldier (1915) and the tetralogy Parade’s End (1924-1928). This enduring but limited fame rests on the esteem of his fellow writers,  rather than popular sales.

Even here the verdict is mixed. Graham Greene included the first three books (Some Do Not …,  No More Parades,  A Man Could Stand Up —) but dropped the fourth, Last Post, from his edition of Parade’s End, thus turning it back into a trilogy. He didn’t think the last book good enough. This edition includes all four books. Available as an ebook only.

‘There are not many English novels which deserve to be called great: Parade’s End is one of them.’ W. H. Auden